Sunday, 2010-01-09

Well, I took a break from running… for good or bad, it felt like I needed to at many different levels.

For the last two weeks, I’m trying to get myself back into it, but it’s been amazing how much it takes to do just that.  Paces that registered HR’s of…. HR’s that provided me paces of low 8 min/mile now had me running at 10 to 11 min/mi.  The effort feels a little harder but not by much, but going strictly off HR… I’m in pretty bad shape.

I’m also between 12-15 lbs heavier than I was during “racing season” last year and about 7% more body fat.  Anyways, that’s that.

Last week, I got back into it.  First few days were disappointing but towards the end of the week, I was starting to feel pretty good about it again.  I ended up running 38.45 miles on 6 days (two doubles).

Talked to George Zack about getting back into the swing of things and he told me to run for base for the next 10 weeks.  10 weeks sounded a little high at first… I was thinking for the next 4 weeks.  But, I don’t have any races, no schedule… in fact, I’m not looking at it that way.  I will definitely work on base more but I just want to run how I want to…whatever feels right.  But, going to strive for 6 mi daily and increasing that 7, then to 8, then to whatever… we’ll see.

2 thoughts on “Sunday, 2010-01-09

  1. You are not in BAD shape.
    You are just not in the shape you were.
    You can run six miles a day – that is a fitness beyond the thoughts of 99 percent of our adult population.
    And if you did six a day for six days last week, you are 36 miles closer to getting back into that shape you were.

    • Thanks… it was just a matter of relativity. It doesn’t matter as much now… I’m in the upswing. I’m even considering training for the 7K Running of the Green in March.

      BTW, my body is starting to adjust…HR’s are much lower now. I’m still going to increase the mileage (smartly) and I think that will be one of the keys for me to get better. I read your Lucho link…very interesting and it seems there still some differences of opinion there.

      Anyways, one of these days, I’m going to come to McK and get a run in with you guys.

Leave a Reply

